Aeneas Williams part of 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Cardinals great is now a Hall of Famer.

The Arizona Cardinals now have another member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Aeneas Williams, who played the first 10 of his 14-year career with the Cardinals, was voted as one of the five modern era players on Saturday.

It was his third attempt as a finalist.

He will join Derrick Brooks, Walter Jones, Michael Strahan, Andre Reed as the modern era inductees this year. Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey were also voted in and the senior candidates.

Williams is the first-ever player drafted by the Arizona Cardinals to make it to the Hall of Fame.

He was drafted in the third round (the 59th pick overall) in the 1991 NFL Draft by the Cardinals. He collected 55 interceptions and returned eight of them for touchdowns. He forced eight fumbles, recovered 23 of them and returned three of them for scores.

He was an eight-time Pro Bowler and a three-time First Team All-Pro.

"All of us at the Cardinals are ecstatic for Aeneas who is a true Hall of Famer in every sense of the word," said team President Michael Bidwill. "His play on the field made him one of the NFL's all-time great players but his integrity and character were just as exceptional. Aeneas, Tracy and their family have been an integral part of the Cardinals family and I can't think of a better person to become the first from the team's Arizona era to be enshrined in Canton."

Williams become the first "Arizona Cardinal" to reach the Hall and the 12th member of the Cardinals organization ever elected to the Hall of Fame. The others: Charles W. Bidwill, Sr. (Owner, Class of 1967), Jimmy Conzelman (Coach, Class of 1964), T Dan Dierdorf (Class of 1996), HB John "Paddy" Driscoll (Class of 1965), CB Dick "Night Train" Lane (Class of 1974), HB Ollie Matson (Class of 1972), HB Ernie Nevers (Class of 1963), TE Jackie Smith (Class of 1994), HB Charley Trippi (Class of 1968), CB Roger Wehrli (Class of 2007) and S Larry Wilson (Class of 1978).

He becomes the 17th modern-era cornerback selected to Canton. He joins Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Jack Butler, Darrell Green, Mike Haynes, Jimmy Johnson, Dick "Night Train" Lane, Dick LeBeau, Ronnie Lott, Mel Renfro, Deion Sanders, Emmitt Thomas, Roger Wehrli, and Rod Woodson.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2014 will be inducted on Saturday, August 2, at the Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony in Canton, OH.

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Revenge of the Birds

You must be a member of Revenge of the Birds to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Revenge of the Birds. You should read them.

Join Revenge of the Birds

You must be a member of Revenge of the Birds to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Revenge of the Birds. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.