clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ROTB Mock Community, Pick 15: Picking For the Philadelphia Eagles

New, comments

This pick was made by kj197728.

OT was a big choice when Peters went down but now the signings of Bell and Dunlap eliminates that need. The Eagles traded for DeMeco Ryans at ILB where they need help. Chaney and Matthews are still horrible and they could have taken Kuechley to pair up with Ryans but he is off the board. DT or CB is the next needs to fill. I am choosing to fill the CB role on the team because DT can be filled after the first round and really is only needed for depth. Let's face it as DRC went way down in performance and Asante Samuel is not coming back at this point as they look to trade him. I am picking Janoris Jenkins at 15. Jenkins has that rare combination of instincts, quickness, and agility needed to be a truly great cover cornerback. Scouts at the Senior Bowl likened his play to that of several-time All-Pro Asante Samuel. So I think it fits in to lose Samuel and find his direct replacement sitting there in the draft this year.

Commentary:

This is an interesting pick. Cornerback does not seem to be a concern and Jenkins was not projected to go this high. Sure, the Eagles might lose Asante Samuel, but that is partly why they acquired Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie. They also have needs elsewhere. Granted, the best prospects at ILB and safety are off the board, but at receiver, Kendall wright would not be a bad pick.

What do you think? Do you agree with the pick? Let us know in the comments why and make sure to place your vote.

Also, we need to fill a few more teams. Feel free to volunteer to take an available team, even if you already have one (or two).

Results/Draft lineup:

1. Colts (psknapp), Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford

2. Redskins (psknapp), Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor

3. Vikings (blank_38), Matt Kalil, OT, USC

4. Browns (Cardsdefense), Trent Richardson, RB. Alabama

5. Bucs (b0rd3rline) Morris Claiborne, CB, LSU

6. Rams (blank_38 and Cardsdefense) Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma St

7. Jags (JSteezy) Melvin Ingram, DE/OLB, South Carolina

8. Dolphins (alaskancard) Michael Floyd, WR, Notre Dame

9. Panthers (hevchv) Quinton Coples, DE

10. Bills (skid83) Riley Reiff, OT Iowa

11. Chiefs (StuckinColorado) David DeCastro, OG, Stanford

12. Seahawks (LAcardsfan) Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College

13. Cardinals (GreaZzy) Dre Kirkpatrick, CB, Alabama

14. Cowboys (KDean75) Mark Barron, S, Alabama

15. Eagles (kj197728) Janoris Jenkins, CB, North Alabama

16. Jets (Sun April 8) DrullinOverDaCards

17. Bengals (Mon April 9) CincyFan93

18. Chargers (Tues April 10) blank_38

19. Bears (Wed April 11) Kdean75

20. Titans (Thurs April 12)

21. Bengals (Fri April 13) CincyFan93

22. Browns (Sat April 14) Cardsdefense

23. Lions (Sun April 15)

24. Steelers (Mon April 16) Steamin Beamin

25. Broncos (Tues April 17) lacardsfan

26. Texans (Wed April 18) b0rd3rline

27. Patriots (Thurs April 19) psknapp

28. Packers (Fri April 20) GreaZzy

29. Ravens (Sat April 21)

30. 49ers (Sun April 22)

31. Patriots (Mon April 23) psknapp

32. Giants (Tues April 24) skid83