clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists include former Arizona Cardinals great Aeneas Williams again

Maybe the third time will be the charm.

Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL revealed the 15 finalists for the 2014 class for the Pro Football Hall of Fame and a former Arizona Cardinals players appears once again. Aeneas Williams, who played cornerback and eventually safety for the Cardinals and the St. Louis Rams, is among the final 15 candidates for the third year in a row.

Williams picked off 55 passes in his 14-year career, returning nine for touchdowns. He intercepted a career-high nine in 1994.

In addition to Williams, here are the other 14 finalists:

Morten Andersen
Jerome Bettis
Derrick Brooks
Tim Brown
Edward DeBartolo
Tony Dungy
Kevin Greene
Charles Haley
Marvin Harrison
Walter Jones
John Lynch
Andre Reed
Will Shields
Michael Strahan

Last year, Williams made the cut to be among the final 10 candidates, but was not selected as one of the five that were inducted. Perhaps this will be the year. Anyone who saw him play know that he was right there with Deion Sanders in terms of the quality of cornerback. He unfortunately did not get the fanfare as he played many years for bad Cardinals teams.

The new class will be announced Saturday, Feb. 1, as part of the "3rd Annual NFL Honors" special at Radio City Music Hall in New York that will air at 8 p.m. ET/PT on Fox.