clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kurt Warner among Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinalists

The Former Cardinals QB is in his first year of eligibility.

Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday the 26 semifinalists for the 2015 class. There are a couple of former Arizona Cardinals. In their first year of eligibility, quarterback Kurt Warner and running back Edgerrin James, are among the semifinalists.

Warner led the Cardinals to a Super Bowl appearance and two straight division titles. James was on that Super Bowl team as well.

Both made a name for themselves elsewhere -- Warner winning a Super Bowl and MVP awards while a member of the St. Louis Rams, and James gaining more than 9200 yards rushing in seven years with the Indianapolis Colts.

Both joined the team in free agency. Warner was a backup, then split time withe Matt Leinart and then, in 2008, won the job outright and led the team to the Super Bowl and then the playoffs the next season.

James rushed for over 1100 and 1200 yards in 2006 and 2007 and then split time in the backfield in 2008 with Tim Hightower, when the team reached the Super Bowl.

The team is hopeful Warner can get in. They sort of kicked off the Hall of Fame campaign by adding him to the team's Ring of Honor this season in Week 1.

The list of 26 semifinalists will be pared down to 15 finalists in January.

Here is the list:

  • K Morten Anderson
  • S Steve Atwater
  • RB Jerome Bettis
  • WR Tim Brown
  • WR Isaac Bruce
  • Coach Don Coryell
  • RB Roger Craig
  • RB Terrell Davis
  • Coach Tony Dungy
  • LB/DE Kevin Greene
  • DE/LB Charles Haley
  • WR Marvin Harrison
  • WR Torry Holt
  • T Joe Jacoby
  • RB Edgerrin James
  • Coach Jimmy Johnson
  • T Mike Kenn
  • CB Ty Law
  • S John Lynch
  • C/G Kevin Mawae
  • LB Karl Mecklenburg
  • T Orlando Pace
  • LB Junior Seau
  • G Will Shields
  • QB Kurt Warner
  • S Darren Wooodson