clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kurt Warner to enter the Arizona Cardinals Ring of Honor

Arizona will honor the former quarterback when the team has the national stage.

Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

The Arizona Cardinals announced that they will add Kurt Warner to the team's Ring of Honor on September 8, 2014, when the Arizona Cardinals host the San Diego Chargers on Monday Night Football in Week 1.

Warner played for the Cardinals from 2005-09, leading the team to back-to-back NFC West titles in 2008 and '09 and the franchise's first-ever Super Bowl appearance in February of 2009. His 65.1 completion percentage and 91.9 passer rating are both franchise career records, as are his 22 career 300-yard passing games and 22 consecutive games with a TD pass. During the team's run to the Super Bowl in 2008, Warner established franchise single-season records for pass attempts (598), completions (401), completion percentage (67.1%), passer rating (96.9) and TD passes (30).

While Warner's on-field accomplishments are significant, they are exceeded by the contributions he makes in communities throughout the country. That includes Arizona where Kurt, his wife, Brenda, and their family continue to make their home and have based their "First Things First" foundation. Warner's philanthropic work has been repeatedly recognized, most notably with his selection as the 2008 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year. Kurt was also named USA TODAY's Most Caring Athlete in 2009, and that same year he was named the player who serves as the best role model on and off the field in a Sports Illustrated poll of NFL players. In 2010 he received Athletes in Action's Bart Starr Award given annually to the NFL player who best exemplifies outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community.

Warner will become the 14th member of the Cardinals Ring of Honor, the creation of which coincided with the opening of University of Phoenix Stadium in 2006. He is the first quarterback in the group whose 13 other members are: Charles W. Bidwill, Sr. (Owner), Jimmy Conzelman (Coach), T Dan Dierdorf, HB John "Paddy" Driscoll, HB/DB Marshall Goldberg, CB Dick "Night Train" Lane, HB Ollie Matson, HB Ernie Nevers, S Pat Tillman, HB Charley Trippi, CB Roger Wehrli, CB Aeneas Williams and S Larry Wilson.

Eleven of the 13 members of the Cardinals Ring of Honor are also enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, an honor for which Warner is eligible starting this year.