clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL countdown: 33 days left and the Cardinals history of No. 33

It's getting closer...


Our countdown continues and we stand at 33 days until the Arizona Cardinals start their regular season on Monday Night Football.

With 33 days left, we look at the unremarkable history of jersey No. 33...except for one Hall of Famer.

Currently, safety Orhian Johnson wears it. He was on the practice squad for the last couple of weeks in 2013 and he is in training camp right now, but buried deep down the depth chart.

Before Johnson, running back William Powell wore it in 2012. He was the star or training camp and made the team as the fourth running back and ended up getting pretty significant time after Beanie Wells and Ryan Williams got hurt. He returned kicks and rushed for over 200 yards on the year. He was not retained with the Bruce Arians staff and was signed by the Eagles, but was released when he failed his physical.

Safety Tommy Irvin was a training camp body in 2011 that wore 33. He was waived-injured in August among final cuts.

In 2005, it belonged to fullback Harold Morrow in his final NFL season. He played only special teams and was reunited with Denny Green, who coached him for several years in Minnesota.

Running back Josh Scobey wore 33 in 2003-04. Drafted in the sixth round by Arizona, he was the team's primary kick returner. His rookie season, he led the league with 73 returns and 1684 yards. He returned one for a touchdown -- a 100-yarder.

In 1997, it belonged to running back Kevin Bouie. He appeared in five games, rushed the ball 11 for 26 yards.

In 1996, cornerback Ben Smith wore 33. He played two games.

A running back whose name I remember because of its uniqueness, Ivory Lee Brown, wore 33 in 1992. At 6-2, 245 pounds, he was huge. He started five games and rushed for 194 yards and a pair of touchdowns.

Running back Derrick McAdoo wore in 1987-88.

And then the rest...with only one player being fantastic and the rest forgettable:

1984 -- RB Quentin Walker

1979-81 -- RB Theotis Brown

1978 -- RB Larry Barnes

1976 -- DT/DE Steve Okoniewski

1975 -- S Tim Gray

1973-74 -- RB Willie Belton

1971-72 -- DB Larry Willingham

1964-69 -- RB Willis Crenshaw (only player of any sort of impact on this list)

1963 -- FB/LB Mal Hammack

1962 -- FB/LB Roland Jackson

1961 -- LB Monte Lee

1959-60 -- DB Fred Glick

1959 -- QB/DB John Roach

1952-58 -- Ollie Matson (A Hall of Famer!!!)

1953 -- FB/HB Johnny Olszewski

1950-51 -- FB/LB Vinnie Yablonski

There you have it. Maybe 32 will be more impactful.