clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL countdown: 32 days left and the history of No. 32 for the Cardinals

Counting down, counting down.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The countdown takes one step closer to the start of the regular season. There are 32 days left.

What is the history of the number?

It is now worn by Tyrann Mathieu, who hopefully becomes a star. He is well on his way after his impactful rookie season. Drafted in the third round last year, he now is in the final stages of his recovery from a torn ACL and LCL.

In 2012, it was worn for one game by cornerback Crezdon Butler. He was claimed off waivers by Arizona in 2011 and ended up on injured reserve after one game. He played one game in Arizona before he was released. He was picked up by Washington after that.

Safety Jared Campbell player wore 32 in 2011. He was a training camp player.

Cornerback Korey Lindsey had it in 2011. He was claimed off waivers along with Butler. He never played any games.

In 2009, fifth round pick Greg Toler wore it his rookie season. He would later wear 28.

From 2006-2008, it was the number that running back Edgerrin James wore. He was a a marquee free agent signing in 2006, signed for five years. He was a volume rusher and gained more than 1100 and 1200 yards in his first two seasons, but his third season he split time with Tim Hightower. However, his ability to run the ball effectively in the 2008 playoffs is one of the biggest reasons the Cardinals made it to the Super Bowl.

Running back James Jackson wore it in 2005.

Here are the rest, as I am pressed for time. The only major player was a the team's all-time leading rusher -- Ottis Anderson. He rushed for 7999 yards for the Cards over eight seasons. He eventually was the Super Bowl MVP for the New York Giants when they beat the Buffalo Bills.

2004 -- Larry Croom

1998-2001 -- Michael Pittman

1995-97 -- LeShon Johnson

1994 -- Frank Harvey

1994 -- Barry Word (I don't ever remember Word being on the Cards, but then again, he only played in one game and never carried the ball.)

1990-91 -- Terrence Flagler

1988-89  -- Tony Jordan

1979-86-- Ottis Anderson

1975-78 -- Jerry Latin

1974 -- Reggie Harrison

1972-73 -- Leo Hayden

1951 -- Jack Simmons

1950 -- Vince Banonis