clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kurt Warner not voted into class of 2015 Hall of Fame

The short career was too much for the voters to overlook

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Despite becoming a finalist in his first year eligible for the Hall of Fame, Kurt Warner was not elected. One could argue that Warner was the most controversial player on the ballot having such a non-traditional and short career.

Warner's resume included 12 seasons between the RamsGiants and Cardinals from 1998-2009. As the leader of the 'Greatest Show on Turf', Warner won two MVPs, won Super Bowl XXXIV and was a four time Pro Bowler. He was the second quarterback to ever throw for over 10,000 yards with two different teams and is the only QB to throw for 300 yards in three super bowls.

However, his career was hampered by injuries, had a single season stint with the Giants and only threw for a total of 32,344 yards. He joins former Rams teammate Orlando Pace and not being first year ballot inductees.

While he didn't make it in this year, Warner was on record to say he wouldn't be devastated and truthfully he has a good chance of still making it into the Hall in the future.

The new HOF members include Junior Seau, Will Shields, Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Mike Tinglehoff, Bill Polian and Ron Wolf.