clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kurt Warner one of 15 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

Could he make it in on the first ballot?

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced the 15 finalists for this year's Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Former Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner made the cut.

Warner is in his first year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame. He entered into the Cardinals Ring of Honor early in the 2014 season.

Warner is joined by Morten Anderson, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, DOn Coryell, Terrell Davis, Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Marvin Harrison, Jimmy Johnson, John Lynch, Orlando Pace, Bill Polian, Junior Seau, Will Shields, Mick Tinglehof and Ron Wolf.

A two-time NFL MVP, Warner led the Rams to their only Super Bowl championship in franchise history. He then led the Arizona Cardinals to their lone Super Bowl appearance, totaling three Super Bowl games for the two-time All-Pro. Warner entered the league as an undrafted free agent and owns the three highest passing yardage totals in Super Bowl history.

Here's how Warner stacks up:

Of 14 modern day era QBs in the Hall of Fame, only Steve Young had a higher passer rating than Warner and only Dan Marino had more 300-yard passing games.

The 14 modern day Hall of Fame QBs averaged 186 games played. Warner played in only 124, but posted similar numbers -- he had more completions and yards than five of the 14 and more touchdown passes than four of them.

QBs Tom Brady, Peyton Manning and Warner are among seven QBs to win multiple MVP awards. The others three -- Johnny Unitas, Joe Montana and Steve Young -- are in the Hall of Fame.

Cardinals fans will say he deserves to get in. He is now employed by the NFL as a part of the NFL Network team with other Hall of Famers like Michael Irvin, Marshall Faulk and Deion Sanders.

Does Warner have a shot of making it in his first year of eligibility?