clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Cardinals news 2/1: Super Bowl Sunday, Hall of Fame, NFL Honors results

Your Cards and NFL info to start the day.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

It is February. It is Super Bowl Sunday. Kurt Warner didn't make the Hall of Fame, but Bruce Arians won Coach of the Year and Larry Fitzgerald won the first Sportsmanship award. Before you start getting your Super Bowl party ready, start the day with some information and thoughts.


Darnell Dockett: NFL hypocrites on concussions, guaranteed contracts | The MMQB with Peter King
By Darnell Dockett Defensive End, Arizona Cardinals The NFL should love you guys. All of you reporters and editors and TV personalities who have been writing and talking for two weeks about Marshawn Lynch and deflated balls.

Sportsmanship Award Goes To Larry Fitzgerald
Notebook: Warner falls short in Hall of Fame vote; Bowles wins assistant coach of year award

Bruce Arians Wins Coach Of Year - Again
Cardinals' boss praises resilience of his players and vows Super Bowl push in 2015

Trio of Arizona Cardinals earn awards at 'NFL Honors' show

Kurt Warner learned Saturday he will have to wait at least another year to hear if he will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, but the night wasn't a total loss for Arizona Cardinals fans.

Bruce Arians of Arizona Cardinals wins NFL's coach of the year award for second time - ESPN

A year of practicing as a head coach didn't necessarily make Bruce Arians perfect in the two years he has been coaching the Arizona Cardinals, but it made him good enough to be named the NFL's best coach for a second time.

Kurt Warner not elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame - Arizona Cardinals Blog - ESPN

Warner was named one of 15 finalists about three weeks ago, but taking two teams to the Super Bowl while dragging the Arizona Cardinals and St. Louis Rams out of quagmires of mediocrity wasn't enough for him to earn a bust in Canton, Ohio, and a yellow jacket.


Pro Football Hall of Fame 2015 class: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley among inductees -

The 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame class includes Charles Haley, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Junior Seau, Will Shields, Bill Polian, Ron Wolf and Mick Tingelhoff.

PFT Commenter sets the record straight with Roger Goodell -

The NFL commissioner gave another rock star performance on Friday. PFT Commenter was there too.

NFL Awards 2015: Aaron Rodgers, J.J. Watt take home honors -

Among the players who took home awards at the NFL Honors Awards Show on Saturday are J.J. Watt, DeMarco Murray and Rob Gronkowski. The league also announced the newest class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Aaron Rodgers named AP Most Valuable Player of the Year -

Aaron Rodgers was named the AP Most Valuable Player for the 2014-15 regular season, beating out guys like J.J. Watt and DeMarco Murray.

Rob Gronkowski named NFL Comeback Player of the Year -

Rob Gronkowski, coming back from multiple injuries, has won the NFL Comeback Player of the Year award.

J.J. Watt wins AP Defensive Player of the Year -

J.J. Watt is your defensive player of the year, to the surprise of literally nobody.

Aaron Donald named AP Defensive Rookie of the Year -

Aaron Donald is your AP Defensive Rookie of the Year after putting up a huge season for the St. Louis Rams.

Bruce Arians named AP Coach of the Year -

Arians did a tremendous job in Arizona this season, fighting through injuries in the league's toughest division.

DeMarco Murray wins AP Offensive Player of the Year -

The Cowboys running back put together a record-breaking season.

Odell Beckham Jr. named AP Offensive Rookie of the Year -

The Giants receiver has been named the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year thanks to an impressive highlight reel already big enough for a full career.