clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona Cardinals close camp after early practice; upcoming important NFL dates

A look ahead at the next couple of weeks for the Arizona Cardinals.

Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

Friday, August 28 is the final day of training camp for the Arizona Cardinals. If you are one who likes to go to the open practices, there is something worth noting. The final practice is no longer at 2 PM, when pretty much all the other practices began.

Friday's final practice will begin at 9:30 AM and end at 11:45 AM at University of Phoenix Stadium. So if you want that one last practice, change plans.

After that, here are some important dates, including when roster cutdowns are.

Sunday, August 30: Preseason game 3, Cardinals at Raiders

Tuesday, September 1: By 4 PM Eastern (1  PM Arizona time), NFL rosters must be trimmed to 75 players.

Thursday, September 3: Final preseason games, Cardinals at Broncos

Saturday, September 5: Final roster cutdowns to 53 players by 4 PM Eastern (1 PM Arizona time), waiver claims may begin

Sunday, September 6: Waiver claims on players cut end by noon Eastern  (9 AM Arizona time), teams can begin signing players to 10-man practice squad after 1 PM Eastern (10 AM Arizona time)

Sunday, September 13: Arizona Cardinals open regular season at home vs. New Orleans Saints