clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Carson Palmer gets FedEx Air award, other Cardinals shut out of NFL awards

New, comments

Palmer wins one, is second in two others.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL held their awards show on Saturday, giving out the honors and awards for the 2015 season. There were several Arizona Cardinals players in the mix  for several awards. They were almost all shut out of winning. The lone award for a Cardinal was quarterback Carson Palmer being named the FedEx Air Player of the Year. It is to honor the standout quarterback of the season. He won it over Drew Brees and Peyton Manning.

Palmer wins the award after leading the Cardinals to a 13-3 regular season record. He threw for a team record 35 touchdowns (good for second in the league), a team record 4671 yards (fourth in the league) and a team record passer rating of 104.6 (third in the league).

Palmer came in second in the voting for Comeback Player of the Year. Kansas City Chiefs safety Eric Berry won that. Palmer was also tied for second in league MVP voting. Cam Newton won that in a landslide, getting 48 of the 50 votes. Palmer and Tom Brady each received one vote.

Head coach Bruce Arians was a candidate for Coach of the Year, but it was Panthers head coach Ron Rivera who won that award. Arians has twice been Coach of the Year.

The Defensive Player of the Year award went to J.J. Watt for the third time. Tyrann Mathieu was in the mix.

Rookie of the Year went to Todd Gurley. Some considered Arizona rookie RB David Johnson as a possibility.