clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class announced, Kurt Warner left out again

But making it to final cuts means it is just a matter of time.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

For the second year in as many years of eligibility, former Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner makes it into the final 10 candidates for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and for the second time in as many chances he does not make the final cut. The 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class was announced at the NFL Honors awards show on Saturday and Warner was left out.

This year's class includes eight people. Only five modern day candidates are named each year. That means there are deserving players and coaches who are snubbed every year.

This year's class has the following:

Brett Favre, quarterback
Marvin Harrison, receiver
Tony Dungy, coach
Kevin Greene, defensive end/outside linebacker
Orlando Pace, tackle
Eddie DeBartolo, owner
Dick Stanfel, guard
Ken Stabler, quarterback

Favre gets in with his first year of eligibility, while Pace gets in with his second. Harrison will make Hall of Fame history. he was not in attendance for the announcement and he will not give a speech when he is enshrined.

With Warner making it to the final cut each of the last two years, it is reasonable to say his turn is coming. It is a matter of time. It is coming.