clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michael Bidwill to receive Paul J. Tagliabue Award

The Arizona Cardinals President is getting an award for his efforts in workplace diversity.

Arizona Cardinals Introduce Kliff Kingsbury - Press Conference Photo by Norm Hall/Getty Images

The Arizona Cardinals President Michael Bidwill has been awarded the Paul J. Tagliabue Award from the Fritz Pollard Alliance.

From the team:

Established in 2012 by the Fritz Pollard Alliance, the “Paul J. Tagliabue Award” honors a league or team executive who demonstrates the integrity and leadership Tagliabue exhibited in career development opportunities for minority candidates and advocacy for diversity on the league and club level.

Michael Bidwill, a member of the NFL’s Workplace Diversity Committee, is the fifth member of the Cardinals organization to be honored by the Fritz Pollard Alliance in recent years. In back-to-back years, team owner Bill Bidwill (2010) and former general manager Rod Graves (2011) were named recipients of the Paul “Tank” Younger Award for their roles in helping provide opportunities for minorities both on and off the field. In 2014, regional scout Malik Boyd was honored as the NFC Scout of the Year and in 2016 then-head coach Bruce Arians was the recipient of the Fritz Pollard Alliance Game Ball Award for his commitment to extending opportunities to minorities in the NFL.

Prior to the 2015 season, the Cardinals established the Bill Bidwill Coaching Fellowship, a program designed to increase diversity and provide more opportunities to gain coaching experience at the highest level. Former Pro Bowlers LB Levon Kirkland (2015-16) and RB Terry Allen (2017-18) were the first two recipients of the fellowship.

Congratulations to Mr. Bidwill on the award.