clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DeAndre Hopkins, D.J. Humphries honored by Arizona media

San Francisco 49ers v Arizona Cardinals Photo by Norm Hall/Getty Images

The Arizona media has announced their yearly awards and the winners are DeAndre Hopkins and D.J. Humphries.

From the team:

Arizona Cardinals wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins and offensive lineman D.J. Humphries were honored today by the Arizona Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America.

Hopkins received the Lloyd Herberg MVP Award for his outstanding performance this year and Humphries earned the Steve Schoenfeld Good Guy Award for his cooperation and insight in dealing with the media.

A Pro Bowl selection in his first season with the Cardinals, Hopkins is currently second in the NFL with a franchise-record 111 receptions in 2020. His 1,372 receiving yards are third in the league while his seven 100-yard performances this season are tied for second in the NFL.

This is Hopkins’ fourth year with 100+ receptions and it is his sixth career 1,000-yard season. He is one of just five players in NFL history with four 100-catch campaigns in their first eight NFL seasons.

The MVP award was named after Lloyd Herberg, former Cardinals beat writer for the Arizona Republic. Herberg covered the Cardinals from 1988, when the team moved to Arizona, until his death in May of 1994. Herberg fought a courageous battle with cancer.

Humphries has started all 15 games this season at left tackle for the NFL’s #2 offense (395.9 ypg), helping the Cardinals rank third in the league in rushing (145.9 ypg) and be tied for second with 22 rushing touchdowns. Humphries was recognized for being available, insightful and professional while communicating with reporters via Zoom this season.

The good guy award is named after another former Arizona Republic writer. Schoenfeld covered the Cardinals and the NFL for the Republic from 1988 to 2000. A former national president of the PFWA, Schoenfeld was killed by hit-and-run driver in October of 2000.

Curious if anyone would have voted differently for these awards, what do you think?