clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Cardinals have three players named to NFL All-Decade Team

Divisional Round - Green Bay Packers v Arizona Cardinals Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The NFL announced their All-Decade team today and it has three current Arizona Cardinals players among it.

From the team:

The National Football League and the Pro Football Hall of Fame today announced the 2010-19 All-Decade Team and the list includes three Cardinals: wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, linebacker Chandler Jones and cornerback Patrick Peterson.

The 55-member team is the result of votes cast over the last several weeks by the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 48-member selection committee. Only players who received at least one selection to a Pro Bowl, Associated Press All-Pro team or Pro Football Writers Association all-conference team during the 2010-19 seasons were eligible.

Fitzgerald, the only active receiver among the 10 named to the NFL 100 All-Time Team last December, has played 16 seasons with the Cardinals who selected him 3rd overall in the 2004 NFL Draft. He enters the 2020 season ranked second in NFL history in both receptions (1,378) and receiving yards (17,038) and sixth in league annals with 120 career TD receptions. Fitzgerald earned seven Pro Bowl selections over the last decade (2010-19), the most by any receiver during that span. One of the best postseason performers in league history, Fitzgerald has 57 receptions for 942 yards and 10 TDs in just nine postseason contests and is the only player in league history to average at least 100+ receiving yards and a TD in the postseason.

Acquired by Arizona in 2016, Jones has accumulated an NFL-high 60.0 sacks, 210 tackles, 67 tackles for loss, 98 QB hits, an NFL-high 17 forced fumbles and six fumble recoveries in four seasons (2016-19) with the Cardinals. A three-time Pro Bowl selection (2015, ’17 and ‘19) and two-time first-team All-Pro (2017 and ‘19), no NFL player has more sacks (96.0) and forced fumbles (27) since 2012 when Jones entered the league as a first-round selection (21st overall) by New England.

The fifth overall pick in the 2011 NFL Draft, Peterson has played his entire nine-year career (2011-19) in Arizona and has started all 138 games played during that span. A three-time first-team All-Pro selection, Peterson joined Hall of Famers Jim Brown and Barry Sanders as the only players in NFL history to be chosen to eight Pro Bowls before their 29th birthday. A five-time team captain, Peterson has totaled 426 tackles, 25 INTs (one returned for a TD), 107 passes defensed, nine tackles for loss, 4.0 sacks, two forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries in his career.

Also earning a spot on the All-Decade Team announced today were former Cardinals defensive tackle Calais Campbell, safety Tyrann Mathieu and running back Adrian Peterson. Campbell was selected by Arizona in the second round (50th overall) of the 2008 NFL Draft and spent nine seasons (2008-16) with the Cardinals. Mathieu was selected by Arizona in the third round (69th overall) of the 2013 NFL Draft and played five seasons (2013-17) with the Cardinals. Peterson spent the 2017 season in Arizona and led the team in rushing that year.