clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Larry Fitzgerald, Chandler Jones, Patrick Peterson among ESPN’s NFC West All Decade team

Los Angeles Chargers v Arizona Cardinals Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The decade was one of the most prosperous for the Arizona Cardinals from a winning standpoint.

A three year run of contending followed by two more years on the fringe of contention gave the Cardinals their best five year run in the history of the team in Arizona.

It also produced some of the best players in team history.

ESPN handed out the NFC West All Decade team accolades and the Cardinals had three current and three former players among the team.

From ESPN:


QB: Russell Wilson, Seahawks, 2012-present
RB: Marshawn Lynch, Seahawks, 2010-2015, 2019
RB: Todd Gurley, Rams, 2015-2019
WR: Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals, 2004-present
WR: Doug Baldwin, Seahawks, 2011-2018
LT: Joe Staley, 49ers, 2007-2019
LG: Mike Iupati, 49ers, 2010-2014; Cardinals, 2015-2018; Seahawks, 2019
C: Max Unger, Seahawks, 2009-2014
RG: Rodger Saffold, Rams, 2010-2018
RT: Russell Okung, Seahawks, 2010-2015
TE: George Kittle, 49ers, 2017-present


DE: Chandler Jones, Cardinals, 2016-present
DT: Aaron Donald, Rams, 2014-present
DT: Justin Smith, 49ers, 2008-2014
DE: Calais Campbell, Cardinals, 2008-2016
LB: Bobby Wagner, Seahawks, 2012-present
LB: Patrick Willis, 49ers, 2007-2014
LB: NaVorro Bowman, 49ers, 2010-2017
CB: Richard Sherman, Seahawks, 2011-2017; 49ers, 2018-present
CB: Patrick Peterson, Cardinals, 2011-present
FS: Earl Thomas, Seahawks, 2010-2018
SS: Kam Chancellor, Seahawks, 2010-2017

KR/PR: Tyler Lockett, Seahawks, 2015-present
K: Stephen Hauschka, Seahawks, 2011-2016
P: Johnny Hekker, Rams, 2012-present

The Seattle Seahawks were far and away the team with the most representatives and rightfully so. They have been to the playoffs in eight out of ten years and won the lone Super Bowl for the division while going to another.

The 49ers had seven players (although Sherman crosses over along with Mike Iupati), then there was the Cardinals five.

The three current members of the Cardinals honored were Fitz, Chandler Jones and Patrick Peterson.

Joining them is Calais Campbell and the aforementioned Iupati.

Pete Carroll was the Coach of the Decade, which should not be a surprise as he is the only coach that has been with the team for a decade and is one of the three or four best coaches in the NFL.

However, it is going to be interesting to see how the next decade unfolds and where the Cardinals can carve out their own niche in it.