clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Cardinals name eight team captains for 2020 season

Arizona Cardinals v Cincinnati Bengals Photo by Kirk Irwin/Getty Images

The Arizona Cardinals have named eight team captains for the 2020 season.

Wearing the “C” on their chest for the team this year on offense will be second year quarterback Kyler Murray, the old man of the group Larry Fitzgerald and newly re-signed D.J. Humphries. The Humphries pick is one that should have Cardinals fans excited, because a lot of the concern over the beginning of Humphries career has been his maturity level. Now, he goes into a new contract with the respect of his teammates and expectation of being a leader.

On defense they named four captains because of how close the votes were, none of which are surprising as Chandler Jones, Corey Peters, Jordan Hicks and Patrick Peterson will be the defensive captains. It’s important to see Peterson back on the list after what has been a tough 12 months for the superstar cornerback.

For special teams the Cardinals have one captain, Dennis Gardeck.

The third year pro is one of the mainstays on the Cardinals vastly improved special teams and has made himself a fan favorite with his play style. His teammates have developed the same deep appreciation of that style.

Congratulations to the eight team captains for 2020 for the Arizona Cardinals.